double or nothing help

hi im pretty new to this stuff and i am trying to learn double or nothing. i can do all the intermediate tricks but that one and drop in the bucket. i just cant seem to ever land it on the string. always misses all the strings or lands on 2. any tips?

isnt your fav trick and whut? doesnt it require a houdini mount its almost like a double or nothing. well space the string out on your fingers to help that problem

When the string goes around your finger the first time, keep that string close to your hand. When it goes around the second time, try to make it wrap around your finger somewhere between your last two knuckles. String spacing is important. Also, when you catch the yoyo on the string, try to land it close to your left hand. It’s way easier to control like that.

@BuddhaFusion: Favorite trick is an ambiguous category. It’s never specified that you have to be able to do it.

1 Like

what helped me was spacing it out. What i mean is get it around your fingers and space it so you have enough string to barely go around then swing it on. Also for some reason practicing trapeze and trapeze and bro helped me

Good luck

1 Like

I separate this trick into three parts (assuming you’re a right hander):
THE FIRST WRAP - after your breakaway throw the yo-yo goes around your left finger
THE SECOND WRAP - the yo-yo continues to wrap around your right finger
THE THIRD WRAP - the yo-yo goes around your left finger for the second time and lands on the outer string

It’s helpful that you practice getting string placement down VERY WELL.
Start with a dead yo-yo and work on string placement.
Here are my personal preferences where the string should go when doing the double or nothing. Take note that every yo-yoer has his or her own way of placing the string where it feels comfortable. If my preference doesn’t work well for you, mess around with placement until you find a position that feels the most comfortable to YOU.

THE FIRST WRAP