Dont know which yoyo to get

I’m new to yoyo’s and dont know which yoyo to get and was looking for suggestions, I was looking for a good but not to expensive yoyo, preferably with a way to change it from responsive to unresponsive. Any help is appreciated.

5 Likes

Welcome to the hobby and this forum. Can’t go wrong with a Recess First Base as your first yoyo. For $25 you get a quality plastic that comes responsive with an unresponsive bearing to swap in when you want to take the plunge.

5 Likes

I had someone give me their old Yoyojam Black magic. Awesome first yoyo. Don’t know what it retails for or if they still sell. Right now on yoyofactory.com they’re selling DV888 starter packs, and DV888’s by themselves for only $20. These used to be $80 when I started out in '09. I copped one last week and you should too!

Welcome! You are bound to get a dozen suggestions and all of them will be great. See which one you think looks best, pick a color you like and just get it! Everyone here has gone through the step you are at right now so you can trust the suggestions.

Thanks for the suggestions, the recess first base seems great but I cant seem to find it online anywhere, could someone tell me a place to find one.

@LaserKat have you looked into this yoyo?

It has a dial that can switch from unresponsive to responsive. I think this would be a good stater that would fit your needs of versatility.

2 Likes