Do you think the shutter is good to LEARN horizontal finger grinds?

Is it easy to learn on? Or should I just wait until I get a better Yoyo for it?

Now if you are already pro don’t say “oh yeh it’s easy to do horizontal grinds on the shutter” I’m asking how easy/hard it is to LEARN on the shutter.

I feel like the unique inner thumb grind ring would make it easier to land it on your finger, am I wrong?

Do you mean finger spin? if it is then yes it’s easier than most yoyos out there.
It takes practice though, so don’t expect to do it first try.
Relaxing your finger is the key.

I would recommend the Horizon if you’re learning how to do horizontal finger grinds. It would be much easier.

I’m currently using the Shutter to try to learn horizontal finger grinds. I’m not very good at it, and I’ve found that the inner grind ring actually makes it harder to land the grind, because it doesn’t work well if you land your finger the outside grind ring (you have to land it inside the inner grind ring). Learning with the Shutter is definitely possible (because I’m doing it), but it definitely was not designed specifically for horizontal finger grinds, since the inner thumb grind ring makes landing it quite difficult, at least for a noob like me.
Like TripleOne said, the Horizon will probably be one of your best bets, in terms of learning, since it was pretty much made for easy horizontal finger grinds.

[quote=“Wheels,post:1,topic:80340”]
Why wait!? Go ahead and practice! ;D

Shutter was the yoyo I started finger spins with. I thought I was acceptable with it because I knew that I was horrible with it. It eventually started getting to 10 seconds or so. Then I got a Vanguard (and an Elysian) and the Vanguard has a completely flat cup but I eventually got better finger spins than on the Shutter. So I don’t suggest the Shutter for finger spins. You can start but you will end up not liking it.