Did anyone yoyobattle at school back in the day?

I know nowadays we can battle with videos online which is very cool.

Back in the nineties boom, I remember pulling out my Duncan Butterfly in the bathroom and my opponent pulled out his glow in the dark Fireball.

A few other kids were in the bathroom watching. One trick, best trick wins. I remember my opponent going first. He did brain twister. The audience loved it.

I pulled off split the atom, which I had been practicing for about 6 months. I was the yoyo king in middle school after that. I quickly upgraded to a Spintastics Tornado 2 from the infinite illusions catalogue I got in the mail.

16 Likes

Haha!! Excellent win.

It was break dancing for me. Who remembers Yo! MTV Raps? :slight_smile:

10 Likes

Ahahahha man it was breakdancing for me as well, I remember the first time I did a front flip the whole school exploded, such good days!

6 Likes

The wife and I recently purchased a house accross the street from the Middle School i attended in the 90’s.

From my bedroom window I can see the exact spot I first saw anyone breakdance.

They were doing UFO’s

8 Likes

Love this video so i figured this is a good thread for it… i personally never threw yoyos much before my 20s.

11 Likes

That gave me my first laughs of the day!

2 Likes

Funny enough we did have a mini yoyo boom on our elementary school back in early 2000’s and thus it had a yoyo battle during recess. we only had bootleg yoyos worth under a buck and showing off some tricks like winding up a yoyo using our bare foot, releasing the dog (basically walk the dog but removing the knot) and other basic stuff.

the yoyo sales from our flea market has skyrocketed because at that time blazing teens was aired on local tv and theres a lot of hype going on, until one day our teachers confiscated our yoyo because it creates a distraction from our classes and the hype died few days later.

Good ol times

3 Likes

WOW - talk about timing!