Designing colorways

How would you go about designing a colorway for a yoyo for anodizing? Anyone have experience with this?

2 Likes

I’m still really new to this, but it helps to become familiar with the sorts of techniques that are used to dye anodized aluminum.

• Solids
  • Fades (they dip it into the dye part way)
  • Masking (dye it one color, mask it however you want, strip the other color off with bleach, then dye it again to color the other area)
  • Acid wash (strips color off of the splashed area)

I think you can also do water-transfer of the dyes.

There’s some info here:
https://www.finishing.com/38/68.shtml
https://www.finishing.com/458/34.shtml

You can also look at Gruntbull’s portfolio for some ideas:
http://www.gruntbull.com/portfolio/

3 Likes

Sure, I have a catalogue of over 43,000 colorways -

My names Josh -

Throw True LLC

GrowTrueRecords

219/779-0128 -Josh
I’m on line , voxer, what’s app, or just text me, or call.

1 Like

Wait what do you mean you have a catalog?

1 Like

https://color.adobe.com/create/color-wheel/

This is great for understanding some basic colour rules. I like Triads the most, but you can find some nice combos for acid washes, fades and splashes on there.

3 Likes

None of this explains the desert sunrise colorWAT

2 Likes

I stole that one from Lamonte over at Amplified. Shameless.

Edit. I even used the same name as to keep it consistent lol

3 Likes

Anyone ever had Gruntbull do a custom anno on a single throw? Curious what kind of pricetag that comes with

2 Likes

@codinghorror has. If I recall correctly, it’s somewhere in the ballpark of 60 bucks shipped. You have to pay for shipping there though. He also might charge more for more intricate designs

2 Likes

Not quite, it is $40 shipped per yo-yo if you mention them on social media and post pics. Which I was happy to do as the results were :ok_hand:

7 Likes