Custom machining for you. (Mostly Free)

Hello all,

I really like yoyos and am slowly getting better. I am up to the Matrix trick. But what I like more than yoyos is building things. I build robots for a living and that is pretty cool, but I always enjoyed making things for my friends. In fact I got a reputation for being the guy to go to when someone had a neat idea, but didn’t know how to build it. But I moved and now I miss that. I have access to two metal working shops, and two woodworking shops and a whole lot of other tools.

Here is the deal, if you have a yoyo design or other similarly sized project send me a message. I will look it over and if I think it is something I can build we can make a prototype out of scrap plastic that I have. FREE to you. If the prototype looks good then we can make some aluminum ones if you pay for the material (about $10). You still own the design and I will never sell any yoyos from your design. My hope is to get some practice making yoyos and then start offering my services to make small runs of yoyos. The only catch is that if we make some cool yoyos I get to keep one of your design for my personal collection.

Below are some of the tools and skills I can offer:

Manual mill and lathe
CNC milling
laser etching and cutting
Waterjet cutting (this can cut through 6" thick steel. So basically it can cut anything)
Welding (mig, tig, arc and plasma cutting)
sandblasting and powdercoating
leather work

I am working on getting an annodizing set up to annodize the prototypes. If I can get a few people interested then I will get one. Basically if I can get some small paying jobs I can get a nice setup to annodize the yoyos I machine. The really cool thing is that if I could annodize things, then I could laser itch the annodized layer and do custom artwork too.

Let me know if anyone is interested,
Josh

14 Likes

Wow, I don’t have any prototypes, but this is a really cool thing to offer!

1 Like