Crossing the line

I have been yo-yoing for about 3 years. I have been very serious about yo-yoing for 1 year. I consider myself to be passed the intermediate skill level but I always wondered when do you cross that line from intermediate to master? For me it was when you could land spirit bomb. Any thoughts?

One crosses the line, when they feel that their line has been crossedā€¦

bark

You cross the line from intermediate to advanced first. I would say that you cross that line when you start competing, or start learning Rethink L4 tricks, YYE Master Level tricks, etc.

You become a master when you are competing at a ā€œprofessionalā€ level.

I can can land spirit bomb. I am not a master.

Same ^^^

yah. Just because you can do a trick youā€™re not a master. I believe you become a master when you are given a list of tricks and you can think up a combo in 2 minutes that links them all together. Then youā€™re a master.

Or if you win worlds :wink:

wellā€¦

mastery is a funny concept. people want so badly to feel ā€œauthorizedā€ to shed those beginner and intermediate categories, but whatā€™s the point? iā€™ve played yo-yo every day since 2005 (and on/off for years before that) and i feel way further from ā€œmastering the artā€ now than i did after 6 months of play.

if mastery means you can hit trick x or y, thatā€™s pretty easy to define, but completely useless. some people define it as the result of 10,000 hours of practice, but thatā€™s also pretty arbitrary. to me it means that you have control over your own art, and by proxy, your self. it has become a mode of expression for you and you are able to use it and approach it in a way that is as unique as you, yourself are. thatā€™s a tall order, and iā€™ve got miles to go.

maybe iā€™ll ā€œcross that lineā€ someday and maybe i wonā€™t. maybe iā€™ll be aware of it and maybe i wonā€™t. iā€™d like to think that if iā€™ve REALLY mastered yo-yoing though, the title wonā€™t make a shred of difference to me.