What is my skill level?

I have been throwing for about 9 months and only know one other person IRL who yoyos (i think he is about the same skill level as myself). Aside from videos posted by pros and legends, i have nothing to compare myself to. Ill try to describe where i am at right now:

There is a playlist on a youtube channel (www.youtube.com/BillyBobs) called “Yoyo String Tricks 1A - Easy to Difficult”. With the exception of Brent Stole and boingy boing, i can do everything up to Green Revolution which is 49th out of the 66 videos. I can do all of these pretty consistently and know a couple other tricks not on the playlist with similar difficulty to kwijibo or green revolution.

If 1 is someone trying to learn a bind and 10 is Gentry stein, about where would you place me?

SEE EDIT 4TH COMMENT DOWN

just my take at such a scale:
1: learning a bind…
2: intermediate-advanced 1
3: advanced 2-master
4: starting to learn from pros and make own tricks. feeling able to learn most tricks due to sufficient understanding of various elements.
5-6: having enough tricks to throw a decent 1 min freestyle with fewer mistakes. able to make videos in general.
6-7: forming a personal style and can throw an original 3 min freestyle without much difficulty.
above 8: Not something I can relate to atm. at this level you should be confident to compete in final rounds of competitions. the difference between levels 8, 9 and 10 is generally indiscernible from a perspective below level 5-6.

1 Like

In response to this, I’m going to change up my scale a bit. 1 is still a person trying to learn a bind, but a skill level of 10 now relates to the skill of pro players in general, meaning anyone sponsored by a yoyo company who competes. I should point out that i am quite capable of a 1 minute freestyle with little to no mistakes. Once i start to learn a new trick, I generally don’t try to learn another until i can do it 9/10 times. I don’t try to learn a ton of tricks at once.