Axle length

What is the difference in axles and their length. If I have a yo-yo that is missing the axle how do I know how long of an axle I need. My spintastics space monkey has the first few threads stripped out and I think if I put the longer axle in it I can still make it work. I don’t want to buy a whole bunch of axle’s and just keep trying them. Hopefully just buy one. thanks for all the input. I guess I’ll just go up to my MMS and hope that a crips and a half of the yo-yo that is stripped out. Boy the voice recognition sucks in this for forum

2 Likes

Welcome to the Forums. I’m not that good with technical stuff but you will get the correct answer here soon.

2 Likes

It sounds like this yoyo is frequently sold as a kit with multiple parts, to be able to switch from responsive to unresponsive play. If so could you tell us what parts came with it and if there were any instructions?

2 Likes

Strictly talking, the lenght of axle impacts the weight of the center of the yoyo, the shorter it is the lighter the weight. However, the larger the axle is the more stable the cups of yoyo will be.

The most common length is around 7 mm. But in some instances certain yoyos require specific type of axle.

You must ask Kyle this guy is the only man alive to ship working kick but YoYos with the smallest axles ever invented and his logic is very sound hard to argue with the gent. So you want to know about axles talk to Kyle at kyostoys. He’ll set you straight. Nuff Said. Word to your mother.

Yeah it came with two bearings and only one axle. Unlike my dv888 that came with two axle’s and two bearings. I got the responsive unresponsive kit for that… I guess I should just go a little bit longer than the axle that stripped out. I have an edge, Marco, horizon, iceberg, and other nice yo-yos but I am just amazed at how smooth the
is space monkey is so I want to get it going unresponsive again.