Any hobby that you totally failed at?

For me, so far, it is juggling. I have tried several times over the years. I’m a drummer. Once a really good drummer. I have no issue with timing or hand coordination. What I do have issues with is depth perception. Always have. Could never play any position but catcher because I had problems telling where the ball is or where it would land. I’m thinking that might be my issue with juggling. I’m a running juggler always having to chase after the balls.

Any hobby that you failed at?

10 Likes

Trick kiting by far, I’ve done it for years but can’t get beyond maybe a fade, some half-axles and some other very simple tricks, it’s by far the hardest thing for me to learn.
high-level freestyle looks something like this

12 Likes

Painting. I want so badly to make nice paintings then I try and I have to burn the unholy machinations before their malfeasance can spread amongst the masses. Also finer woodworking but I lack the right tools.

7 Likes

I’m a firm believer that anyone can make good art, you just have to find your strengths and inspiration while not getting too hung up on technical skill. Don’t get discouraged!

3 Likes

Fishing - have yet to catch anything larger than my lure, have lost several lures. But they say a bad day of fishing is better than a good day at work. Something will eventually hit, still lots ahead of me to learn and a whole rest of the year and different temperatures to play with. And when nothing bites, you break out the yoyo :slight_smile:

6 Likes

yoyoing

14 Likes

I’ve always had this dream about constructing an Egyptian Pyramid.

I didn’t want to do it the old fashioned way…

But my plan is a total disaster.

I want to start the Pyramid with the Top rock.

But I have yet to figure out how to suspend the pointy top rock so I can start stacking the rocks below🙀

50+ years and can’t get it going.