After all this time you still yoyo?

The question has been asked several times by friends recently why I continue to yoyo after all these years.

I could explain that I find it greatly rewarding when I hit a trick well.

I could explain that I love being a newbie. I feel like a newbie when I yoyo, even though I’m not a newbie, I am, when I see something differently, get a new idea, or learn something that I never even dreamed of. It’s just that exciting and cool! Love it!

I could explain that I yoyo still to kill boredom.

I could explain that I love the feel of yoyoing.

I could explain any or all of the above but generally I don’t. I just smile, point at that smile, and say, “It’s just about the smile.”

Pretty sound explanation from my perspective. :wink:

Why are you still yoyoing?

15 Likes

Second That. I also like jamming and living the dance, even if I’m doing a Billy Idol imprecation and just Dancing with Myself

7 Likes

After all this time I still yoyo because:

Once a yoyo is thrown the mind switches to a meditative state. In a meditative state you begin the see all is one. When you know all is one you can become one with all.

12 Likes

I’m in a similar boat. I started throwing when I was 12 back in 2008. I found it to be a really fun and rewarding activity, just trying to climb up the 1A trick ladder and eventually creating my own tricks. It wasn’t expensive, I could take it anywhere, impress people, make friends on & offline, test my creativity, and feel a sense of achievement. I also genuinely developed a lot of coordination. Not a lot of hobbies check all these boxes so easily!