A beginners advice for buying a yoyo

Well here I sit finding myself writing advice on yoyos(I am a beginner in every sense of the word). Well the only advice I can give is on buying a yoyo. I was one day cleaning out my attic and low and behold I find this shoe box that contain some stuff I had as a kid and old Duncan Imperial and Butterfly(vintage 1970s). Well out of curiosity I put the Butterfly on my finger and threw it, did it a couple of times then string broke lol. So I started looking on the internet for yoyos and saw some videos of people throwing them and wow how have things changed I don’t remember doing that when I played all the time so I decided to buy a new yoyo so I can do those tricks. I went to the local toys R us and bought a Duncan dragonfly and a speed beetle. I had some fun with those for awhile then decide I wanted to get something better so I did some shopping and bought a YYJ Legacy when I got it and threw it for the first time it didn’t come back so I came back to this web site and found out I had to learn how to do a bind return ( Thanks Apetrunk and Awsomeness). Well I was extremely frustrated with what I bought because it was so unresponsive and it was a yoyo that was meant for someone beyond my skill level. So I came back to this website and did some research and I did send a mail to yoyoexpert and bought a YYJ Lyn Fury well I got that and that was exactly the type of yoyo that fitted my skill level and am extremely happy.
Those of you that are just starting yoyoing take your time do your research and ask alot of questions most people here are more than willing to help you, even though they will bombard you with there preference in yoyos just take your time and don’t buy that yoyo that looks the coolest because it might not be the best for you at the moment. Don’t worry my legacy hasn’t beaten me and it will be sitting there until I am ready for it. I hope this advice helps :wink:

That is good advice. :slight_smile: