5A Yo-yos

What would you look for in a yo-yo for 5A as opposed to one for 1A? What makes some yo-yos better than others for 5A play? I would add more substance to this question, but I honestly have no idea.

I’ve wondered this myself. I have a very vague idea, but not enough to articulate to someone who needs help on the subject, being almost exclusively a 1A player myself. I’m very interested in the answers that will come for this thread.

Most people just choose their fav. 1a yoyo to 5a with. I prefer, a wider floatier yoyo with irPads.

I find that I prefer small bearing yoyos for 5A myself.
As well as non H shape yoyos, although for that, I don’t exactly know why.
Preferences.

Same here. I usually prefer A and D bearing yoyos for 5a. And stuff with narrower gaps.

I use a StarLite, since I’m just beginning.

But, the reason for me is:

1. Nice, wide profile
  2. GITD
  3. Cheap
  4. Nice Spin Times

IMO, until you get good, I’d use a YYF plastic or YYJ BiMetal.

That’s just my 2 cents.

I’d go with a YYJ plastic over a YYJ bi-metal for learning 5a - the full plastics have a better record for durability.

For me a lot of rim weight so it doesnt tilt as easy like my genesis

If I plan on doing freegens, it pretty much has to be a Kickside. It’s the right confluence of variables (of which there are many) to allow freegens as I do them with relative ease.

If not, anything suitable for 1A is equally suitable for 5A.

right now using a starlite and an aoda flying shuttle

I’d like to use an addiction but I only have one and it’s amongst my main 1A throws so I’ll probably have to get another one.

1 Like

I use the superstar, genesis, and legacy

I like stability, good spin times and tight binds