Zipline Strings/ Nylon

I’ve been playing solely Kitty fat for about 4 years.

Was curious so I got some nylon and nylon poly blend from zipline and wow.

I’m genuinely curious why everyone doesn’t play nylon or a blend?

Whips are faster, they last longer, and they feel great.

Is there a downside I’m just not aware of yet?

4 Likes

I love nylon :+1: sometimes they seem to get weird tension issues once in a while but not often in my experience. I enjoy the longevity and the slipperiness @Afkor makes some awesome nylon strings!

3 Likes

I like nylon strings from time to time but I’d never daily drive them. Whips are fast, but not ‘controllable,’ a lot of nylon string feels like it whips so fast that it’s hard to control, especially in relation to slack loops staying open on longer slack maneuvers. Nylon strings being so stretchy also contributes to this, I find that slacks that rely on tension in the string tend to not hold their shape as well because of the stretch in the string. The hand feel is great, but when a string is too slippy/smooth it has some trouble binding, especially with larger gaps and thinner nylon strings.

That being said the zipline ZS Air is really good, I have it on a few of my more casual yoyos, but for consistency and performance I’ll stick with 100% poly or a very high ratio of poly to nylon blend.

6 Likes

Poly blends with a bit of nylon are pretty good (Sochi phoenix), but nylon itself is kinda bad. It’s expensive, slack relies HEAVY on tension (if you’re doing slow slack stuff then the slack turns to spaghetti real fast). Also the stretching is annoying on some nylon.

Also very bad slack control

2 Likes

All this make sense. I have about 45 minutes on nylons so I’ve yet to experience some of this but I’m sure I will as I try out my more complicated tricks

1 Like

I think sochi phoenix is 100% poly mate.

1 Like