YYF Popstar 2016

So I recently received the new updated Popstar from the 2016 mystery box. It’s a fun throw, pocket friendly but it was missing something. Its weight seemed a little too light so almost felt like it lost spin quicker than the C3YYD Token. After messing with it I decided to try out a concave bearing with it… definitely the way to go! I had a easier time with keeping the Popstar straight and stable with the concave bearing (I’m still learning so others might be much better with the stock CT bearing). Overall after swapping to a concave bearing the Popstar becomes IMO more forgiving allowing me to have more spin time for string tricks. It’s now my daily.
Just as a comparison it’s smaller than the Token and the texture is more like very very very fine grit unlike the polished smooth feel like most other yoyos.

-bbdave-

maybe centratrack still has the factory lubricant … you can try to clean it, but if you’re better off with the KK leaves this.

P.S. I hope the Popstar play best of Token … because with the exception of the finish and laser-engraving (really good), the Token is among the worst 4 yoyo I own.

Very possible. I tried playing with it for a bit to break it in but I think because of my experience I couldn’t keep the string in the center well enough so I lost spin quicker and it wouldn’t have enough spin to come back when I tried to bind it.
Also not sure about you but my Popstar came slightly dented from the box (sucks but doesn’t affect play)
As far as the Token goes it’s fun not bad but definitely different feel, I also have a concave bearing in it too

Update
Thanks to YoyoExpertGarrett, YYE replaced my popstar for an undamaged one

-bbdave-

the token I find it too massif, too heavy and with a very limited time spin … I think it could be designed better, even considering other previous C3 I own and playing divinely (Master Galaxy on all!).