Yo-yo Community size

Hello, I am a student doing a speech for my speech and debate team. I am looking for facts to include in my speech to represent our valued community.

How large is the yo-yo community? How many players roughly represent the yo-yo community.

What is the significance of our sport. why is it important, why do players do it besides the fact that its so fun, and amazing to watch.

Thank you for your time and help

Matt

I think the actual number is estimated around 5,000-6,000 enthusiasts/throwers worldwide.

Worldwide? I’d be surprised if it’s only 5-6K in the whole world! Certainly in the low tens of thousands (maybe no more than 20K), but it’s gotta be more than 5-6K, no?

Totally just blowing hot air into this thread… don’t use anything I say as anything close to being legit info. :wink:

Well, I dont know. I guess it’s probably more than 5,000, but still probably only a little more than about 10,000.

Are we talking about serious division throwing? (1A, 2A, etc…)

Millions and millions of people own, or have owned, a yoyo.

I think if you’re asking about active yoyoers of our kind, it would probably be best to ask yoyo forums how many people are registered/active. Perhaps averaging them and taking a number off for quitters would be appropriate?

Why do I yoyo?

I yoyo because it helps me relax, when I throw a yoyo I throw my thoughts away. I do it because I like the idea of pursuing an art (this one happens to be yoyoing) to a degree of mastery, not that am anywhere near it but I think it is a good thing to strive for (that goes for everything in life). I play to better my tricks and therefore better myself.

I play because it’s fun.

YYN had (has?) over 30k registered users. Granted, many of those were probably repeats, but there is also a very large part of the yoyo community with no real online presence. This number doesn’t include the MASSIVE amount of players in non-english speaking countries like Japan!