why good rep? FHZ

I bought a FHZ as my first throw, and have been throwing a magic t5 for about 2 weeks. I’m still a noob. Just wondering how the FHZ has gotten such a good rep. It’s SOO responsive. I’ve already worn down the response pads and its still super responsive. Is it just a good BEGINNER throw, or is there anything I can do to it to make it still useable? I have the “wider” spacers in it, and got 1 1/2 mount at best.

Try cleaning the bearing. Give it a good soak in some mineral turpentine.

Yuki

Yes. Clean it. Every Duncan I have ever had always came over-lubed. But I think the FHZ is made to be responsive. The FHZ, though is also a favorite for modder-fodder.

The FHZ is the No.1 choice for modifications and is easily the most modded yoyo out there. FACT.

I have always wondered why Duncan does not make a FHZ that is already modded?
If everyone modifies it, why not make it the way people want?

Guess it keeps modders in business and gives us something to do with our plastics. The constant search for the perfect yoyo.

I think because there are a real ton of modifications you can do with it that there’s no one modified version to sell. Also, some people modify for the fun of modifying a yoyo.

What kind of mods can I do to it?

some of those that I’ve seen are high wall mod, silicone mod, large bearing mod.
you can try searching for other mods.

You need a drill press for a sili recess, and a lathe to do reshapes, highwalls, and SPR.

You don’t need a drill press to do a recess. All you need is a standard drill or dremel and a vice.

same reason yomega doesn’t make the raider modded well make the stock the modded version