Washing strings?

Hello! I came across this scrap material the other day and decided to spend 5 mins making a small bag to attempt to wash some of my strings. I ugly sewed it with an old kitty string. I’ve never tried it before but I keep seeing it suggested on the markmont site. Some of them are airetic strings that aren’t made anymore and I tend to yo-yo in my shop so they often get dirty pretty quick. I know if I just throw them in the wash with clothes they’ll get wrapped around something and might cause a problem. How do you all go about washing boutique strings?

4 Likes

Quick soak and then light agitation in cool water with a small amount of detergent. [Rinse then] squeeze the excess water out, untangle and hang to dry.

Washing in a bag like that could work fine, but machine washing and (especially drying) gradually turns everything into lint.

5 Likes

I hand wash them too just like @hsb but that’s just because it’s faster than a washing machine. You can also just put them in a pocket and wash them or use a garment bag and hang dry them

4 Likes

I have a small bag of string I’ve been meaning to wash. I have enough string don’t need to wash any for a while so I just keep putting them in a bag and will deal with it one day. I’ll probably just toss them in the wash when I get around to it.

It doesn’t help I keep buying more string as well…

2 Likes

One problem I can see you having with this setup…that Kitty string you used to sew the bag is going to be very difficult to remove and use again afterwards…:thinking:

3 Likes

We happened to have a garment washing bag that was designed for masks. It’s like a lingerie bag; mesh fabric and a zipper, but much smaller. I’ll just fill it up with fancy strings and throw it in the wash when it’s convenient.

3 Likes

No! I that was my lucky string!

1 Like