Trouble doing string tricks

Hi, I don’t know if this is the right section, or even the right forum to ask this, but I hope so since theres also lots of Yoyo-Tutorials on this site, so I thought It’d be best to ask in this forum.

I’m still a beginner in YoYoing and I am currently trying those Intermediate tricks that André is teaching.

Anyways, I lately bought a F.A.S.T. 201 for all those fancy string tricks like Split the atom I couldn’t do with my Sunset Trajectory, but when I try to do certain string tricks, especially the Mach 5, my string seems to be touching the yoyo, causing friction and that slows it down so I never got down a Mach 5 that lasted more than a few seconds. Or sometimes it just turns to the side after I do the split bottom mount. I have had this problem since I started string tricks, and I want to get rid of this, but I don’t know how. I have figured out a few possibilities but I have no clue which one is the right one:

1. I am bad at yoyoing
  2. My yoyo is bad
  3. My string is too thick (In andré’s videos, his string always looks so small and thin)
  4. My yoyo-gap is too wide open (I tried widening the gap already, but it didn’t seem to help)

I hope the answer is not 2. because I am kind of out of money at the moment and I don’t have that yoyo that long, but I also heard the F.A.S.T. 201 was a bad yoyo, while some said its a great yoyo.

If it is number 1, I have no clue what to change about my playing so that the string doesn’t touch my yoyo anymore.

I personally think that the fast 201 may have been a bad choice, a YYF Velocity or YYJ kickside or YYJ lyn fury might have been a better choice.
But, also as you are just starting out in the world of string tricks mabey your throw also needs working on. What type of string are you using I would guess that it is normal thickness slick six string that came with the yoyo, or basic cotton which still would be the right thickness.