Trick List

What would be a good set of tricks to have with an unresponsive at around the 2 month mark of practice. Just to compare my own progression to give me motivation to keep going. Thank You.

The amount of time that has elapsed isnā€™t the deciding factor, itā€™s how much practice you fit into that time. If you only practiced for 1 hour a month then in 2 months time you could not even have learned to double-or-nothing properly. For someone with a full time job and family, 2 months worth of practice might mean Matrix and Kwijibo, whereas if you stuck someone in solitary confinement with nothing but a yoyo for 2 months, theyā€™d probably know Jensen Kimmit Sandwich and Soiled Panties. :stuck_out_tongue:

So in other words, there is no ā€œyou should be this good in this amount of timeā€ measuring stick. Itā€™s all down to the individual and how much they practice. :slight_smile:

3 Likes

Gambit is 100% correct. It all depends on you. I started learning by going through YYE tutorials. Just do those and keep progressing at your own speed.

Technically, I have been yoyoing since I was in High School, but with all the stops and starts, I canā€™t even skin a gerbil yetā€¦

Iā€™ve been throwing for a little over 2 months nowā€¦ the last month or so Iā€™ve been hitting it pretty hard (well not too hard - I do have a full-time job in corp America, and three little kids ; )
The last handful of tricks Iā€™ve picked up are Skin the Gerbil, Matrix, Cold Fusion, McBrideā€™s Roller Coaster, Eli Hops, etcā€¦ and I have been struggling to try and get consistent with Magic Drop. (And I do mean struggling ! )
Iā€™ve seen people mention Kwijibo a bunch lately - I think that will be next on my listā€¦ and at some point in the near future, Iā€™d really like to learn Candy Rain. (Can anyone recommend other prerequisite tricks to learn first to make learning this one easier?)