Tips for 2A

I’m new to 2A yo-yo tricks and was wonderin’ if anyone has a few wise tips to help a fella out.

Recently I’ve felt kinda bad about my yo-yo career due to a few things. I kinda stopped throwin’ for a few months but now that I picked up a 2A yo-yo and put the yo-yo string correctly on my finger(no longer on the base of my finger.Hehe) I feel like I’ve been almost reborn with my yo-yo career and am back at the beginning when I could really enjoy yo-yos and not always think about how swell all these other players can do these tricks but focus more on my own journey and the joy of a yo-yo. I feel like I can just take a breathe and have fun throwin’ a yo-yo. My gosh I reckon it’s just nice to head back to a more simple time. Anyways tips for 2A? Thanks very much once again.

4 Likes

First of all. Never get too caught up with the skill of others. Unless you get paid to yoyo the only person you should strive to be better than is yourself. Im in my mid 30s now and at some point you have to come to the realization that there will always be a 13 year old that can make you silly comparitively.

As for 2A, make sure you have pretty much mastered looping with your dominant throw hand. It should basically be muscle memory when you start throwing with your non dominant hand. After you start getting comfortable with your non dominant hand start doing them together.

3 Likes

Okay I agree with that first statement for sure. I suppose just enjoy the hobby and have fun. Do it because yuh love to yo-yo not for the glory and acceptance of others. Good thing to think about. The other statement about 2A looping is pretty understandable too. I only bought one looping yo-yo cause I want to really take my time with my dominant hand and not feel like I have to try and go fast by having two yo-yos laying around I want to just take it slow and go at my own speed. It’s also nice to only have to carry around one throw in your pocket.

2 Likes