This f&f thing is frustrating

I feel like most of the posts I see and most of the bst’s I respond to, everyone wants f&f and won’t accept g&s. The general consensus is that people think they’re going to have to pay taxes on everything when they receive a 1099k.
It will involve a few more papers but you only have to pay taxes on things you sell as a gain. It’s considered capital gain, kind of like gambling winnings. If you’re selling a used item at a loss, you don’t have to pay taxes on that.

Im new to the forum and the bst but the rate things r going, it doesn’t seem like I’m going to be buying anything anytime soon. I have never used PayPal before and I’m ready to start but im not ready to use f&f. Not that I don’t trust anyone out there in the community, everyone seems like wonderful people, but I would just like to cover my own behind.
Im hoping by bringing this up people will look into it more and change their mind about g&s. I kno a lot of people probably haven’t actually looked into it. A quick search on the irs site will confirm all of this.

Also remember only your gain is taxable. Not the full amount. So it may not be that bad in the end.

4 Likes

The thing people keep saying about gain is great and all but you still have to document that. And honestly most people don’t want to deal with that. The 1099k is a mess of a form

3 Likes

Yea I understand that. Completely. I probably wouldn’t break the $600 just so I wouldn’t have to do the paperwork. Lol I get that alot of people easily do too. It just bums me out cause I see a lot of things I’d like to buy on here but it always seems to be f&f when I ask. Im deep down hoping i convince some people to want to deal with it so I can feel comfortable buying.

4 Likes

I agree people are a bit ridiculous but most people are ok with G&S if you offer to pay fees.

I tend to only purchase and sell from well known members of the community that I see are active and I deemed a good person.