The physics of floaty?

Is it possible to predict the speed at which a yoyo will play? The cliff is really floaty but it also specs that it should be heavier. I don’t get it. The chief isn’t that floaty but a lot lighter. Is there a diameter to weight ratio that suggests how it will behave?

I am no expert, but here is my take on float.

Larger diameter, Less weight, Weight is more center focused than rim focused. My floatiest throw is my MFD Gelada, that thing just hovers.

center weight= floaty, rim weight= solid

But there is a lot rim weight on the Cliff (judging from the shape), also i don’t see center weight much since there is no center hub

It is the positioning of rim weight near the undercut that makes it floaty.

Oh yay! I’ve been waiting for one of these threads, and have been surprised to have not seen one earlier.

My take is that “floaty” is part physics and part “it’s all in your head”. In terms of physics, I think people underestimate the… er… zippiness at which a yoyo goes from hand to to end of the string (“unrolling?”). This is a function of the bearing, string, response, walls, and diameter of the yoyo, all contributing to whether a yoyo gets to the end of the string with a “thunk” or elegantly reaches the end of the string with a powerful spin and little or no “thunk”.

Since that’s the first sensation at the beginning of any trick, it’s going to inform your feelings. A C3 Token which has a heavy “thunk” at the end of the string, is never going to be called “floaty” even though it might have the same weight as another yoyo.

The H5xChief, on the other hand, spins its way out to the end of the string without a “thunk”, so it just feels elegant and “light for its size”. Well, it’s not any lighter. It felt lighter because it did not accelerate to the end of the string at the same velocity as a rock on a string. It “floated” to the end.