The future of yoyoing

I have been yo-yoing for about 6 years now and have always wondered why yo-yoing is not a popular team sport. I know players are considered part of a team once they are sponsored but yo-yoing remains a fairly individual sport. If yo-yoing were a team sport many of the scoring would be similar to gymnastics. Your team members all specialize in different events such as 5a or 2a. I would really like to get some feed back if possible.

Thanks

1 Like

That would be AWESOME! like in the Olympics they compete as a team each individual doing a certain event and then as individuals against everybody.

^this!

I know it might not fit in with the current layout of competitions and a lot of people are going to complain about that (in this thread lol). But your idea is brilliant. And would be awesome to watch.

What about everyone who competes who is not on a team? Unsponsored players might disagree with this idea.

The only form that this would be easy to integrate into is the AP division. In fact, Artistic Performances are often best when itā€™s a team effort.

I retract my statements. I donā€™t even know what to think lol

There used to be a team division at Worlds.Ā  As in, not totaling individual scores for team members like gymnastics, but a full team performance.Ā  You didnā€™t necessarily have to be sponsored, and any group of players could form a team for the contest.Ā  It was discontinued in 2002 and replaced with Artistic Performance since there seemed to be less interest in the team division.Ā  So AP kind of carries on the spirit of the team performance, just with less emphasis on skill/difficulty and open to individuals.

Hereā€™s an example of a team contest performance:

Iā€™d like to here more on the concept driving this.

Hereā€™s my thoughts: