Superyo Cruiser to teach a single one and half hour long lesson to kids...

As a high achool teacher, I am looking to teach a one off, hour and a half long lesson in yoyoing for children new to yoyoing and am wondering if the superyo yo cruiser is a good choice to have them start with.

I am considering buying 15 of these yoyos for the 13-14year olds in the class, most of whom have not used a yoyo before (other than the up and down ones that don’t spin).

I need the yoyos not to be made of metal for health and safety reasons and for them to be responsive I suppose, as they won’t know how to bind and perhaps this will be a difficult thing to teach them in one lesson.

Will the Cruiser be a good choice at £3(usd4.50) per piece. I am paying for the yoyos out of my own pocket so money is an issue.

Can the yoyo perform most tricks I could teach in one lesson? I’m thinking of teaching the basics (who can get the yoyo to sleep the longest, front mount, rear mount, trapeze) and giving them the chance to try one or two of the simpler intermediate tricks (double or nothing, rock the baby, Eiffel tower, brain twister, drop in the bucket, green triangle). Would the yoyo cope or just be too responsive?

I’ll be using laptops in the class with video tutorials so pupils can watch and try at the same time!

I just want to try to get some interest going.

I can’t say I’ve heard of the superyo cruiser but a solid learning choice at a cheap price would be the yoyojam classic. It comes with a slim bearing and rubber o rings. A tad pricier at $10 per piece but it’s hailed as a great starter yoyo by many in the community.

Yea just get a classic.

I’ve got a classic and agree it is a great yoyo for beginners, but cost is the limiting factor here. I cannot spend USD 150 on fifteen of these. The idea is that I I get the children interested and if they are keen, they take this hobby forward.

I just need something which is decent enough to start with, but cheap.