String change

Hello to all,
I’m an ultra beginner, only a few weeks I’m yo-yoing to relax so sorry if my question is stupid (plus I don’t speak English well).
I just changed the string on my VD888 and since then, it reacts like a non responsive yoyo (at least I think because it doesn’t go up anymore).
The change seemed simple, but do you know if I did something wrong? Can I rectify this?
Thank you in advance.

2 Likes

Add oil to the bearing and it will become responsive.
(You may have to run this through a translator)

1 Like

As a Ultra Beginner, not all strings are the same.

Strings are made out of different materials and are made at different thicknesses.
If your new string is thinner than the last string, you could experience the issue you are describing. Maybe look into getting a Medium Thickness String for future replacements. Strings are consumable items, change as often as you need to.

As jhb8426 mentioned, try adding oil to the side of the bearing. You will be looking for a thicker oil to use.

1 Like

Thank you all for the advice, I will order this as soon as possible.
It’s surprising that to make my yoyo responsive again, I have to put oil… I would have thought that the string would have to hang more.

2 Likes

Here is my order: https://www.amazon.fr/dp/B01IF9E468?psc=1&ref=ppx_yo2ov_dt_b_product_details

Those string will work. Look for “Yoyo Thick Lube”.

1 Like

Some lube will specify “thick” or “thin”. For responsive you want “thick”.

Having both isn’t a bad idea.

3 Likes

Thank you, I just placed an order for a thick lubricant, for yoyo responsive.
I just have to wait and see if everything improves.

2 Likes

Hi! Welcome to the forums. I know that you’re a beginner but a lot of players actually prefer non-responsive yoyos. That being said if you do want it responsive definitely listen to everyone else and get some thick bearing lube for your yo.