Spacers (again)

Hey guys,

I am on the verge of ordering a c3 ghost and I am thinking about ordering a couple of extra spacers.

Here are the available options:

As I have no experience with spacers, can somebody make a recommendation?

Is it better to have thick or thin ones? Do thick ones make the yoyo go responsive?

What is the difference between regular and steel spacers?

Thanks.

everyone i know at a higher level seems to run blue just for maximum gap and still be bindable for longer combos

Thickest= widest gap? Does not seem reasonable.
Should be the opposite, right?

How do you figure?

1 Like

If the spacer is thick, bigger, there is a smaller gap left? Is it the other way around maybe? Like half spec and c size bearing?

If the spacers are the thickest, that pushes the bearing out further and make the largest gap, with less string touching the response system.

Can confirm ryan conolly uses blues in his unlimiteds

1 Like

I see. Thanks. Will order the thickest then. Maybe also order the second thickest available.

Is there a difference between regular and steel one though. For some reason there are 2 different kinds available.

not sure on this one tbh

1 Like

I am curious to see how will all that work for 5a.

The steel ones have a tapered outer edge so they’re easier to remove and less likely to get stuck in the yoyo.

Unless you’re planning to use your Ghost IX for 4A I don’t see much of a reason to buy extra spacers, but if they’d give you extra peace of mind, then just order the thickest option. Anything thinner will make your yoyo play responsive/extremely snaggy, because you’ll be going down to a 2-3mm gap width compared to the 4mm+ gaps of modern unresponsive yoyos.

1 Like

I would only go for any other option as blue if you like thin string. I have one setup with very thin iYoyo slackies. The smaller gap works great especially for any air binds but if you use any “normal“ string stick to blue.

1 Like