Sketching/Drawing

Hey guys I recently got the urge to start doing some good sketches. Im a total apprentice but I want to get some decent pens/pencils and a notebook. What do you guys recommend? I dont really want to mess around with fountain pens and dont plan on spending a lot of cash(for now) but want to get some good gear. If you guys can also post pics of what you use and links to them(or where I can buy them) it would help a lot

I like to draw, though I’m not too good at it so I can’t help much when it comes to suggesting tools.

Well Im not looking for pro pencils and stuff, just say decent cheaper pencil sets, or mechanical pencils, or pens and what kind of paper to use.

I just use pencils for drawing the shapes and then use a mechanical pencil to finalize. And as for paper I use what ever I can find, from post it notes to graph paper. xD

A good to book to read if you want to learn how to sketch would have to be “Lee Hammond’s Big Book of Drawing.” That book helped me become a better artist. It teaches you all the basics of drawing.

~ManofMystery

I believe he was looking for some supplies, not a teaching book.

Well, in that case, I would recommend this: IT’s a pretty good set for anywhere near 10 bucks.

Actually I guess a book also falls into supplies. Those pencils look nice. I might get both. And what kind of paper is better to draw on? The only high quality paper I know of is Velum which I use for floor plans at school but I know thats mostly for tracing and expensive

maybe I’m not the best to be giving advice, because I do a majority of sketching with a basic #2 pencil, but here’s my set up
I usually use a strathmore 300 series sketchbook (100 sheets of 9x12 50lb paper)