Should there be a female division in yoyo contests?

I am relatively new to modern yoyo-ing after a long layoff since the 70’s. This is probably a naive topic - but it was one that had me thinking a bit this weekend.

I was at the (PNWR) Pacific Northwest Regionals and had a great time watching some amazing yoyo-ers. A grand total of 71 competitors vied for the 1A championship - none of them female (at least while I was there). None of the finalists for each of the divisions were female. There were lots of females in attendance as spectators - a few even yoyo-ing.; which made me ask if there needs to be a female division recognized in formal competition?

While I certainly recognize that the nature of yo-yoing is gender neutral - I wonder if we are being too politically correct by not recognizing the differences between male/female yoyo-ers? Somehow, the culture of yo-yoing seems to favor the adolescent/young-adult male over the female when it comes to high-level yoyo competition.

So, should there be:

1. Open Division (Anyone can compete)
2. Female Division (Women/Girls)
3. Youth Open (Boys/Girls)
4. Girls Division (Girls)

???

I don’t see a reason for a female division. There just aren’t that many girls who yoyo, compared to how many guys yoyo. Also, there are girls who can perform on the same level as some of the top guys, like Ann connely or corli du toit

i dont c a reason 2 do this. both boys and girls can compete and win in any regular contest, even though boys are more common. A female division may encourage girls to yoyo and that is good, so i think that may happen

Emancipation is the keyword i think.
although it would be good idea.

ooooohhhhhhh trying to confuse us with big words

It’s not that big of a word. And I don’t see a reason for a new division. It is not like girls are inherently better at yoyo-ing than boys so they need a new division. It is an even playing field.

paradon.