Question about YYJ Trinity

Let me start by saying that Im fairly new to yoyos. I’ve been going thru the learning sections on here step by step, and I’ve recently moved up to advanced. I started off with a Custom YoYo “The Axl” and then went to a Protostar and now I’ve acquired a Primo and the Trinity and Dark Magic 2.

When I got the Trinity the axle was bottoming out and I contacted yoyoexpert and we tried a few things but I sent it back to them and they fixed it and sent it back. During shipping one of the silione pads fell off, and they put a new one on for me and sent me a spare too! The new pad seems to stick out real far compared to the original… I just received the yoyo yesterday and was excited to get to try it out finally! So I got on here and watched the Plastic Whip vid and was trying it out and within a few throws I was catching the yoyo but instantly it would return and smash into my hand! I wondered if I was doing it wrong so I tried it with my Protostar and Primo and it seemed just fine.

So then I went back to the trinity. After messing around with a little bit, I realized that I could throw a regular sleeper, give it a tug, and it would return quicker and easier than my Axl or even the DM2 with the responsive bearing in!

I’ve got some RVT High Temp Red silicone from when I put test pipes on my Z, and I was wondering if I should try removing the silicone pads and using this instead?
I dont like wasting things so I dont really want to get rid of those pads cuz theyre brand new! So before I take them off and throw them away, I’d see if anybody could help me out?

Feel free to ask any questions you want, and thanks for reading!