Noob, and noob questions

I’ve been throwing for almost two years and have recently developed an interest in kendama.

I’ve never played one, what are some things to know? Where do I start?

2 Likes

You cannot not go wrong with which ever path you choose to start from. The more beat up it the ken is the easier it is to do harder tricks like tight rope walking. I dream about everything I venture on to also.

1 Like

Thanks man! Do you have some links for tutorials for easy beginner tricks?

I’d recommend something with a stickier paint for learning. It will help you get the hang of balance tricks.

My favorite that we have in stock right now:

2 Likes

The beat up part is generally true, but that’ll have no bearing on tight rope unless you’re talking specifically about the tip. A flatter, worn down tip is needed for that trick, which, by the way, is one of the most absolutely difficult kendama tricks I can think of. To call it hard is a massive understatement.
Really though, with all the silk and tacky paints available like @YoYoExpertGarrett mentioned , having a beat dama isn’t really necessary. It used to be more helpful back in the day when all the paints were super slick and glassy out of the box. The damage from playing would help create friction for balance tricks.

1 Like

So now that we’ve established probably one of the last tricks that I would want to learn first, where should I start? Can you share any links or anything?

1 Like

Kendama USA has some great tutorials, Here’s their beginner youtube trick list:

The trick I always encourage beginners to focus on is Around The World. That’s Big cup > Small cup > Base cup > Spike. It gives you a good feel for kendama overall, positioning the tama, and you get to practice transitioning from cup to cup and cup to spike:

3 Likes

Dude, this looks freaking fun. I don’t know why but Kendama has never appealed to me until the last couple of days. Thank you!

2 Likes