need help doing strong and straight sleeper

Hi everyone,
I’m still new to yoyo and currently in beginner section. I realized that my sleeper is not strong or straight enough so when performing tricks the yoyo often stopped spinning or tilted to one side. Can all of you help me with how to properly throw a straight sleeper and also strong enough? All thoughts or comments will be highly appreciated.

Just practice more…
You will get the feel… And your throw will be better…

1 Like

okay thanks rookieyo

Try holding the yoyo in between your middle finger and your thumb, on the edge of both fingers, then make a big muscle, and look at the yoyo the whole time to make sure you are throwing it perfectly straight. If this doesn’t help, i would recommend getting a nice yoyo that sleeps long. Good Luck!!

1 Like

hi jetboy,
thanks for your advice. i will try to learn it. by the way my yoyo is velocity, do you think it can not sleep long?

I was taught to pick out a spot on the floor about 3 - 4 feet (a meter or so) directly in front of my right foot (left foot if you are left handed). Aim for that spot. This causes the yoyo to arc down when it is getting to the end of the string and is less likely to pop back up. After someone showed me this, I got the hang of really throwing hard to get a sleeper. Eventually, you don’t even think about it.

1 Like

usually, it’s not the yoyo, its the bearing. The velocity is a good yoyo, don’t get me wrong. Do you have some mineral spirits, or paint thinner, or even turpentine?

1 Like

to alzabo, thanks for your advice. i will try to practice your method
to jetboy, right now i don’t have any of them. do you think i should clean the bearing?

It would be better, however, if instead of cleaning it (faster way), you could thin lube it and wait for it to break down. That way, you get a longer bearing life.

Before Cleaning/lubing a bearing learner, please investigate into it. Don’t want you to screw up your Bearing.

1 Like