Need a Camera

I need a camera that records 1080 HD, and can take good photos, preferably 16-18 MP but it has to be in the $250 range. I might be able to go to $300 but that’s unlikely.Links? Help? Please.

Are you brand loyal and want are the main features you want outside of the mp and 1080 requirements, I’m a photographer and can offer some help picking the right cam for you just need a little more info.

Also is size a concern? And zoom do you prefer a short zoom of a tele zoom? Aperture are you looking at something fast and constantly through the zoom or is a variable aperture ok?

I wouldn’t be concerned about megapixels unless you are planning on getting a wide-format print of one of your photo’s (ex: 10’x6’). Above a few megapixels, it’s not so much how many megapixels, but what the camera can do with them.

Yes and no some people just believe more is more with mp and Ive learned its hard to fight with them and change there mind lol, thankfully there are some many capable cameras in that mp range its s non issue :slight_smile: that’s why I didn’t address it, Nikon and canon have cameras in that mp range but the options and features will determine what’s best for the OP.

But more important I forgot to ask if the OP is wanting new or will used be ok?

I would like a Canon or Nikon. New preferably. My photo 1 teacher told me that if I was planning on getting a camera, that it should at least have 12 MP, but I’d prefer a little more.

20x zoom? Idk, I’m doing all my editing on photoshop. Size doesn’t matter. But I’d prefer something small, or medium. I don’t like large cameras that much.

This is a little more then you posted but its he best bang for the buck its the canon s100 and will fit your needs and then some.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B005MTME3U?ie=UTF8&force-full-site=1&ref_=aw_bottom_links

If I’m not mistaken, the s100 can also shoot RAW, which means you can adjust levels and colour balance after the fact with no loss of quality.