My Bearing Locked Up...

Yesterday I received my brand new Dark Magic II, I’m absolutely in love with it. I’m using the speed bearing and it is absolutely fantastic. So this morning I wake up, make a pot of coffee and while I’m waiting for it start to throw, it was great. Then after the first few throws started to make a loud grinding/whizzing sound, thought to myself “that can’t be good”… well it wasn’t, shortly after that the noise stopped, not got quieter, just went dead silent. This was because my bearing locked up and now the string is just treating it like a fixed axle and is completely responsive. I don’t have any lube but am probably purchasing some today. I don’t know if something managed to weasel its way inside or what is locking it up. I am fairly new to yo-yoing so any guidance or help would be appreciated in resolving this issue with my brand new baby.

-Jeremy

Alas, new bearings are finicky beasts. More often than I would prefer, “something” (and I truly don’t know what) comes loose and gets stuck. If that “something” is sufficiently hard, continued play will cause galling on the inside of the bearing and then it’s potentially ruined.

I doubt that’s what has happened, though… it rarely happens that way.

There’s still likely “something” stuck in there, but there’s a very good chance that simply cleaning the bearing will help. After cleaning, a TINY TINY amount of lube if you want lube, otherwise just give it a go.