Yoyo Bearing Question

Hello! I’m pretty new to yoyoing, so for my first yoyo I decided to buy a yoyo I saw recommended in a few places, the YoYoFactory Sage yoyo.

After a month, I was confident enough to try unresponsive yoyoing, so I bought a second Sage, this time with the stater pack, and swapped in the VIP bearing. However, I quickly noticed that the bearing was significantly louder than the stock one. I assumed that was just how the bearing sounded and was careful to lube it often with the thin lube sold at billybobs_bait_n_tackle.com.

Fast forward another month or so, and the bearing suddenly got WAY louder. It was totally unexpected, and it happened right in the middle of a trick. I took the yoyo apart as I had in the past, but when I turned the bearing with my finger it felt rough like there was a grooved surface inside. I have gotten it to play okay by adding lots of thick lube to the small seam on the bearing, but I assume I have to buy a new one regardless.

My questions are, is it normally supposed to make a noise at all, and how do I prevent this from happening in the future? Or will I have to replace my bearing every month or two?

Edit: accidentally hit post button. Post is now finished.

4 Likes

Oh, another thing of note, it’s started playing slightly responsive, at least more so than when I got it.

3 Likes

Bearing can last years. Welcome to the Forums! Can you post a pic of the bearing? Some bearings (large / wider) have grooves, some are concave, some center trac. Bearings sometimes get noisy after the first 10 minutes. If you have the narrow bearing installed, that’s for responsive play (tug return). The wider bearing is for unresponsive play that requires a bind to get the yoyo back to your hand and only needs a very tiny drop of thin lube once in a great while. The narrow bearing requires thick lube but just a little drop. Sometimes bearings dry out and get noisy and need a little lube.

3 Likes