Making A YoYo?

I have seen threads that ask how to make wooden yo-yos, but I want to make a yoyo such like the dark magic. Is there any company anybody knows of that will make a yoyo for me of my choice of design? I am really wanting to do this as I am think to enter into a contest and I want to have my personal settings on my yoyo so I can do different combos I made up. If you don’t understand what I am asking, like Andre Bolay, he created the dark magic, how? I know yoyojam did it for them but how do you contact them to ask them to do it for you. Are there any requirements to make a yoyo such as to win 1st place in a yoyo contest (I highly doubt it).

Andre Boulay had the Dark Magic made because he was a good yoyoer, and sponsored by YYJ.

3yo3 will often make custom yoyos for a price.

1 Like

I am new to this business stuff. How do you get YYJ to sponsor you? I am a pretty good yoyoer. Do I have to enter into a contest or something? 3yo3 I will look into.

You don’t look for a sponsor. They look for you.

As far as getting your own yoyo made 3yo3 is your best bet. Won’t be cheap though.
Also if you think you need a certain yoyo to be good then you are wrong. You need to be able to win contests with any yoyo out there. So many people win even though they had no part in the yoyo’s design.

you could win with the DM or a YYF lunatic. the yoyo really doesn’t matter.

1 Like

So your saying that when you win contest and stuff, the companies (YYJ) contact you because your good and then you go from there? That’s pretty cool though. I think I’m entering next year :wink:

Yes but don’t get your hopes up. There are thousands of really great yoyoers and only a few spot on any given team. Some of the best yoyoers may go forever without ever being sponsored.

1 Like

I am aware of that. Thank You all for that info!

You are welcome.

1 Like

no problem

May I ask what relevance your post made? I mean if you are going to post make it worth while.