Less responsive yoyo

Hey guys, I’m a new yo-yoer and I was just wondering on how I could make my Duncan Metal Drifter less responsive.

I haven’t touched any of the friction stickers or the bearings but I heard that some people put vaseline to lube the bearing and take off one friction sticker : /
I’m a bit apprehensive to do this and I want some reinforcement from you guys before I try this.
Any help would be greatly appreciated!

And remember, I’m a bit new to yo-yoing so please be patient with me, especially with the yo-yo terminology. ^^;;
Thanks!

if you put vaseline in, you may as well throw the bearing away. lube is NOT vaseline. lube is a very thin oil in 1a yoyo play. you could take out 1 friction sticker to make it unresponsive. also, clean the bearing, like this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EHb5a-kTzz8

lube also makes the bearing more responsive.

note: cleaning bearings requires dangerous chemicals, as they are solvents.

Alright, then I won’t lube it or use vaseline. But thanks, that helped a lot.

What will cleaning the bearing do?

cleaning takes out all the oil dirt and grime. if i were you, i would get some yoyojam thin oil.

it prevents bearings from rusting, and it helps to keep dirt and grime out, but it will be responsive for a day or 2. i play dry, but sometimes lube is needed

Cleaning the bearing also gets the excess lube out, causing it too be more unresponsive.

If you don’t want to buy the thin lube, sewing machine oil or trumpet valve oil works too.

Oh and a side note, if you lube your bearing, it will be responsive as Carl stated. But doing Gyro Flops will help speed up the break in process much faster.

Alright, I don’t wanna spend any more money so I’ll just use my clarinet valve oil (same thing as trumpet valve oil)

Thanks guys~!

I didn’t know clarinets used valves, and mind you, I’ve seen a few thousand clarinets.
(I played trumpet, so I got oil already).

Throw in a little bottle of YoYoJam thin lube on your next YYE order.