Just the Facts: Weight and Weight Distribution

Yo I’m making another one of these to get my facts straight. It seemed impossible to talk about weight without talking about weight distribution so I’m going to include both of them here. Let’s start with talking about weight in general and then weight distribution. Might as well make a general note about distribution because it is confusing. For calculating the MMOI (Mass Moment of Inertia), the energy gifted to the yo as it hits the end of the string, weight distribution is all about where the weight is concentrated in relation to the central axle like it matters if the weight is concentrated away from the axle but not away from the gap ie.weight distribution distance from the gap of the yoyo (width) doesn’t play into these equations for MMOI. Weight distribution closer to the gap does help balance the yo and adds stability. (How easy it wants to stay how it is vs get knocked off plane).

Please correct me if I am wrong. I studied the arts and was terrible at science but I really like yoyos and want to make sure I understand them correctly. I read Don Watsons YoYo Physics 1-5 and learned a ton which allows me to say a couple things and know that they have been tested and proven but there are also more things relevant to actually playing with heavier yo-yos that not brought up in Watson’s essays like heavier=more dangerous so we should have a list that includes real world things also besides just like pure spin time and we should include notes on how the physics apply to actually playing Yoyo.

Shoutout to @Philip for this post which sparked my interest in this and covers a lot of what I want to talk about. I understand information best when it is clearly listed out so that’s what I want to make.