Intro to Yoyo Specs

Yo I’m writing this to help other beginners understand how yoyo specs relate to how a yoyo plays. I started playing recently and went on a quest to learn about the Yoyo and I still remember how mystical the specs at one point seemed. I want to make yoyo more accessible and I know something like this would have saved me a ton of time and lots of other forum users from having to answer all my questions (Thanks!).

This is an intro guide and each of the specs have more that you can learn about. Hopefully this helps some people skip ahead.

Weight
Weight is an impactful factor to how a yoyo plays and feels.

Higher Weight = longer spin time & less maneuverability (how easy it is to accelerate and decelerate or I think how easy it is to make the yoyo zip around from here to there).
When players say things like “plays faster,” they are usually refering to the maneuverability.

Rim weight: more stability, longer spin

Center weight: better regens

Rim weight is defined by diameter (distance from axis) not width!

Adv. stuff about weight and weight distribution

topic

Diameter
Diameter effects how a yoyo feels in your hand (like big or small) and plays an impact of how it spins.
Bigger diameter = more initial spin and spin time but makes some stuff like chopsticks stuff or through triangles require more finesse.

Width and Catch-zone
Width is related to the catch zone of a yoyo and the catch zone is another spec that isn’t explicitly described but is important to consider. The catch zone is the area that is good to hit for like trapeze and stuff.

Wider yoyos are more stable than narrow yoyos and the extra width helps add space for a larger catch zone. Larger catch zone makes riskier, hard to catch moves like behind the back stuff easier than if it was more narrow.

Wider yoyos also make dense tech harder because there is less and less space for the yoyo to pass through complex string configurations.