Interest in a YoYo-themed work of fiction?

So I realize that currently there’s one of the usual debates going on in another feed about John Higby and the book he’s been putting together. Let me just start by saying that I honestly have no real opinion on that matter as it seems I likely don’t know all of the information at hand. Additionally, as I create this thread I want to be clear that I have no intention of copying or replacing what John Higby is doing with his book project. Please, read on.

I am a writer who has published three works of fiction through independent presses. I have also contributed to literary publications, music review sites, book review sites, satirical blogs and more. I also hold a degree in journalism and communications, yada yada yada. I’m writing to see if there would be any interest in the yoyo community for a fictional representation of yoyoing. It wouldn’t be fantastical or unbelievable, but rather realistic and (hopefully) interesting.

I wouldn’t be asking for any Kickstarter support or anything of that nature (not at all a slight on those who do, it just simply wouldn’t be necessary in this case) and subsequently, while I wouldn’t promise a timetable, I assure you that I work hard and with great attention to what I’m doing when it comes to writing. Ideally I would self-publish this book and I would do my absolute best to price it fairly.

So yeah, if you all could let me know what you think of this idea (me writing a novel or perhaps a collection of shorts based on modern day yoyo), that would be great. I would love to write a book like this but it is most certainly a lot of work so I’m really just trying to gauge if there would be any interest from all of you.

Thank you!

9 Likes

This sounds cool. :+1:

3 Likes

I think it would do great! Lots of the community are parents trying to get their kid into the hobby they love and a book or short story they can read together could make it happen!

3 Likes