I'm teaching a yoyo class! Is there a way I can get a "Sponsor"?

Hello yoyo world,

First I would like to clarify that I’m posting this in the correct section, if not, will the mods move it please?

So I am a teen counselor at the 4H center for summer camps. Last summer, I decided to enter the camp’s talent show. I got an huge applause from all the campers because yoyoing was something they have never seen before. Because of the popularity of my yoyoing, the camp director wants me to teach a yoyo class this summer because I’m the only person in my area who can teach this unique skill. Basically it will be a one hour class for 3 days in a row. My goal is to teach two groups of 10-12 campers how to yoyo. I have some experience teaching tricks because I make tutorials and put them on youtube.

The camp would like to have some decent quality yoyos that they can give to the campers. But the lowest price I can find for a good beginner yoyo that is capable of responsive/unresponsive play is about $10. I was thinking along the lines of a Yoyofactory Velocity because the starburst response requires little maintenance, and the Velocity is capable of beginner and advanced play. Now there are other yoyos from other companies that will work also, but this is just a first thought.

My question to you, do you know if there is someone I can talk to who can give me a discount/donation for this yoyo event? Like I said before, the camp wants to give yoyos to the campers. If I have two groups of 12 campers, that means I will need around 24-30 yoyos. If these yoyos cost $10 each, thats $300 the camp will have to spend on one class. The camp director said she can not fund the class at this cost. This is why I’m posting here. Is it possible to aquire a “sponsor” for this event? It could potentially mean two dozen new yoyo customers into the community.

Thanks,
Josh

Have you tried directly contacting yoyofactory yet? I think that is your best bet.

1 Like