I went to the Nationals--- Wow!!

I’m a newbie here and to yoyoing. I’m 45, and have a 10 year old son. We’ve both been yoyoing for about 3 months.

I live 2.5 hours away from Chico and was told we had to go. So we got a motel room and went to the Holiday Inn on Friday night. It was great! My son hung out with the other yoyoers. They were all so friendly. The parents were great too. We bought a brand new Yoyo Jam Fever for $15.00. The only yoyoer I knew there was Ann Connolly. My son was thrilled to meet her (we knew here from her DV888 video). After I returned to our motel I went on the Yoyo Jam and Yoyo Factory website and found out many of the sponsored players were there.

On Saturday we went to the competition. I thought 8 hours of yoyoing would get boring, but it didn’t. I watched everyone. It was amazing. My son spent most of the time yoyoing with other kids. We bought about $250.00 worth of yoyos (including a SPYY) for less than $100. We had such a great time and met so many great people.

We met André Boulay, and my son was a little nervous meeting the “guy from the videos.” My son got a few signed cards and Ann signed his Northstar that we got for $20.00.

As for the competition… wow!! They all made it seem so easy. The top 3 1A’s were so great. To my untrained eye any one of them could have won. It was clear that some of them were “very good” and a few of them were “great.” But several of the competitors, like Daniel Mizell (who finished almost last in 3 finals) and who didn’t win were so fun to watch. I really wanted him to win. And a kid named Ian Johnson was great. I was sitting next to his mother and she was so proud.

All in all, it was a great day. We are a few hours away from the Bay Area championships and the California State Championships and can’t wait to go. It was a great time.

That is really cool how you and your son both yoyo. Man, you are lucky you live close to Chico! Its my dream to go sometime!

Play YoYo Everyday.

-Andy