How to progress?

So I have been throwing for almost two years now and I have been learning tutorials from youtube (matio, cabin tutorials, yoyojoe, mk1 tutorials, etc). It is my goal to compete someday but when I watch competitions, I feel like the competitors are on like a whole other level. So, how do people get to this level? Do you have any tips for progression? Any advice would be very much appreciated. And sorry for all the reading lol

5 Likes

music. put in some headphones with good music and just practice flow and working your way through tricks and letting yourself be influenced by the natural progression from trick to trick. do this for a few hours a day and you’ll be just as good as anyone else.

3 Likes

its one thing to know every trick but another to be able to craft things together with rhythm, some people can know like 4 basic tricks and make them look so smooth and clean just by having a good flow

3 Likes

Thank you!! Those are both very good points that I can definitely work on.

3 Likes

I think it’s awesome that you’re wanting to compete. Choreographing tricks to music and putting on a good performance is when I enjoy yo-yoing the most.
I am not a top level competitor, several years ago I made the conscious choice to persue the violin seriously instead of spending 100% of my available time on yoyo. But, I have won my local state competition, and have placed into finals in California state twice. I can give you some advice on how to get at least that far.

1.) Yoyo as much as possible. Your yoyo is your constant companion. Just run through the tricks you have again and again, whenever you have the chance. This will build consistency. Make it so your tricks are not just consistent, but EASY for you.