How to improve at yoyo (and anything else in life)

Disclaimer: If you’re content with your skill level and like how you currently interact with yoyos, this post is not for you. This post is explicitly directed towards people who want to improve, but feel stuck and unsure how to progress. If you don’t fall into that camp, you can ignore this entire post. Although even if you’re content with where you are at yoyo, the methods in this post don’t just apply to yoyo, almost any skill you want to learn in life will benefit from these simple things that are relatively easy to overlook.

I’m still relatively new to the hobby. I’ve only been playing for a bit over two years at this point, yet a recurring theme I see from a lot of people who have been playing for longer than me is “I’ve hit a wall, I don’t know how to improve.” Meanwhile I feel like I’m improving at yoyo every single day and I’m only going to keep getting better given more time.

There’s an assumption that anybody who improves quickly must be talented, gifted, a fast learner, or has zero other responsibilities and an unlimited amount of time to play during the day. That’s simply not true and discredits the people who’ve put in time, and people with better methods or mindsets for improving.

I play yoyo for maybe an hour a day, oftentimes less, but rarely over an hour unless I’m really in the zone and trying to learn/create/land a trick. I don’t spend an excessive amount of time playing yoyo. I have so many other hobbies, interests, commitments, and other things in my life that I balance out my yoyo time with.