How in the HECK do...

Hello
I am kind of new to yoyoing, and this question popped into my mind. HOW in the HECK do people freestyle? It looks absolutely impossible! Obviously it isn’t but what the heck!? Also, is that basically what all pro yoyoers do is freestyle once they know all of the yoyo tricks? Like how when I saw the YouTube video of the guy using the proto star, is that all just basically freestyling? Is that all it is in (at least) 1A tournaments and stuff with just a few real yoyo moves every now and then? I am quite confused.

After a certain time learning the generic tricks it gets easy enough for you to make your own movements and combos…

I’ve been yoyoing for 3 years and its just easy for me to improv and make my own stuff … VERY rarely will I use an old trick in a freestyle

Most people move and create their own tricks. Or so ive read.

It just seems SO difficult to just do stuff as you go… And to help clear up confusion for me, is that just about what every yoyoer does BASICALLY? Like everybody competing at a 1a tournament and the guy performing that operation dark magic video for the DM2?

after a while it becomes 2nd nature to guys who compete a lot. It’s like riding a bike.

You realize freestyling as they call it at contests isnt doing tricks that you come up with in your head at that very moment as you go for 2-3 minutes right? They make a routine and practice it.

They are not made up on the spot. Try are Pre-choreographed.

Edit: ninja’d

1 Like

“That guy” is Andre Boulay. And once you get good enough, you just come up with your own stuff. Second nature. Any other questions we can consolidate to this thread? :slight_smile:

1 Like

Also there is no such thing as ‘real yoyo moves’ yoyoing is all about creativity and most players make up there own tricks.