Good fast/speed yo-yo?

Hi all. I’m fairly new to this have been going for about six months, and looking for a good fast or speed type yo-yo. Is floaty the same thing? I see those descriptions used hand in hand I think. Not looking for a super boutique or pricey throw, just a good solid reputable yo-yo that is readily available to purchase.

Just trying to cover most bases to see what I prefer - so far have power (peregrine), fun (OD free solo), and a shutter (all around - if that’s what would call it?)

Thanks!

3 Likes

I’m not sure what “pricey” is to you. What is the limit of what you want to spend on this?

Bad description - sorry. Try to keep under $60

The real speed demons are bi-metals. The few monometals (that I know of) that are designed for top speed tend to be in that pricey super boutique category. One model that comes immediately to mind is the YoyoFriends Sunbird. It is available (here on YYE, in fact), but it costs $65.

2 Likes

Topyo Impulse is a solid choice if you’re into speedy style

2 Likes

I would agree with this as the first to come to my mind is the G2 Elite 18 but it its a pricier option. But I agree the bi metal is the way for speed in this instance

1 Like

Agree the b18 is a great option but a bit pricier

Valhalla is on the way as well and fits the bill

2 Likes

Valhalla is so nice!

1 Like

Thanks all! Will definitely look at these. The extra $5 for the sunbird wouldn’t be a deal breaker.

I’ve been keeping up with the Valhalla looks awesome. Sounds like G2 releases are tough to get what do you think actual chances landing one are? I’ve not been around for one

1 Like

It depends on the release, honestly. Some are easier than others. A lot of it depends on how many get made and how many pass QC. He’s pretty strict on his QC, which is one reason they’re popular.

You can find them on the BST fairly often, and if you join the Facebook group, you can find things for sale there, too.

1 Like