Favorite grip to use when throwing?

Talked with a couple friends and it seems to me that there’s a few different interpretations of how to throw a yo-yo, what’s your favorite?

I’m a noob to yo-yoing but so far I’ve been switching between these two:

1. Traditional-ish Palm up, middle finger in the string gap and other fingers wrapped around the yoyo. I think this is most common even though I suck at describing it.

2. Palm facing your free hand(i.e sideways for a breakaway throw), thumb in the string gap of the yo-yo, rest of the fingers rest perpendicular to the gap. Hard to explain without visually showing but it uses more wrist to throw than arm.

Any other techniques you either use or may have heard of?

Palm up. Never heard of your #2 method. Most people I see get plenty of wrist action into the palm up throw.

Thumb in the gap and the yoyo resting on the side of my index finger. I’ve been throwing that way for 1A since I started learning 5A.

Ever since I found out about the weird method, of throwing like opening a door handle, I’ve been doing that. Looks more sophisticated.

Yeah I’ve seen that used, kind of makes me thing of shooting a pistol one handed.

Yeah I think that’s similar to the second option

Yes. Those are the two main ways of throwing I believe. #2 is more casual and usually causes bad vibe because of the throw, maybe because I only throw like this when I am lazy. #1 gets the best sleeper and straight throw.

I only throw the #1 way. Not because I think it’s better or anything, but I just can’t get the knack of the “door handle” way without the slipknot sliding around. I have to have the slipknot centered and tight or I get really weird OCD-ish feelings. :wink:

I’ve thrown so little 5A that I’m having a hard time picturing how I throw with a counterweight… but it’s gotta be pretty much how homba described, I would think!

1 Like