Dry vs Lubed Bearings

Well, yesterday my grandparents left on vacation for 3 months. They wanted me to house/dog sit. My Grammy is a very nifty knick knacky type of lady she loves knitting, weaving, sewing, really building anything. Anyways i was in her little room earlier looking for tape and infound some sewing machine lube.

Now I have been throwing for 5 years now. I have always ran my bearings dry. I had put a small drop in a OD ten ball and messed around with it in my PSG, I loved it so much I put it in my avalanche. I like how much easier binding is. Now i can try different kinds if them. Also i like how quiet the bearing sounds. Thumbs up for lubed! But sometimes the string catches and the throw will come back. Just need to break it in. Thoughts? -Sammy.

Hey man, glad to see your still around. I should text you sometime. Anyways, I used to like dry, then I liked lubed, and now I like Terrapin X treated or lubed. It’s all personal preference, and just remember lube needs to break in for like an hour first!

eh, I still like dry better. If I wanted to play responsive, I would be throwing fixed.

I use trumpet valve oil. works great.

I clean them out immediately and run them bone dry from then on.

How long do they last you?

I recently got 6 extra bearings and I was debating experimenting with running a bearing dry for the duration of it’s life, but don’t want to wrecklessly destroy a bearing… Part of me assumes they’d last for quite some time though

I do the same thing as him. I’ve been throwing for about 2 years, and have some throws older than that (3-4 years) with presumably their original bearing. The only bearing I’ve ever had die on me was due to applying too much pressure with pliers. Unless you live within a couple miles of a beach, they’ll last quite some time.

I have bearings that are 6+ years old and never been lubed. Play like a dream.