Dark Magic 2 a review for a beginner/intermediate player

First off, I am just a beginner barely moving to intermediate string tricks. I was looking for a hybrid that pushed the weight to the rims. I was told to look at others beside the DM 2. They said it was an older yoyo with much better ones out. I ended up with 25% off for a DM 2. I bought it and I was very impressed right away. It comes with the responsive bearing installed and an unresponsive bearing in the box. Basically 2 yoyo’s in one. I got a nice looking white one.

Playability:

As soon as I threw it down I was impressed. I thought it might feel heavy but, not at all. It was very stable. It actually was more stable than I figured it would be. My throw downs were smoother. It landed tricks as well as any other yoyo I have played with. Once I changed to the unresponsive bearing, I was able to put multiple strings in to the gap for some string tricks without a problem. I still work on the Mach 5 trick and this has been the only yoyo I have come close to accomplishing it. Yes, I do know it is my lack of talent but still it was easier. This is now something I will use as my primary throw.

Pro’s:

Fun to play with
Weight
Unresponsive bearing included
String gap
Stability
Looks
Easy to change bearing
bimetal

Con’s:

None I can think of

There are other reviews from better players but, a player with my skill level this is great choice. It may not grind or spin for 7 days but it is well worth the money.

Thanks for reading!

2 Likes

Nice review! One thing though. The Dark magic 2 isn’t a bimetal, but a metal plastic hybrid. Other than that, good job!

1 Like

Oooppss. Sorry will fix right now. Thanks for the compliment. Goes to show a 50 yr old can write a decent review. :smiley: Getting back in to yoyo’s is a lot of fun. Then the wife finds out how expensive they are. Haha

Sometimes those “older yoyos” just hit the sweet spot. The DM 2 fits the bill in many ways.

2 Likes