Cheap CLYW or any suggestions to a new yoyo-er

I’m new to yoyo-ing and all I know is this is the type of yoyo I was told to get by my boyfriend (CLYW). Does anyone have a “fools gold” CLYW return top for sale? A CLYW that has been used? This is just so I can start to learn and see if I really want to get into yoyo-ing, or any suggestions on what type of yoyo I should get?

If you really just want to try out yoyoing then you should get a cheaper plastic yoyo like the yoyofactory whip or the yoyojam surge. You might not want to invest in a CLYW yet, even if it is a Fools Gold one (They are fools gold because they are as good as the normal ones)

Just curious, but how much about yoyoing do you already know? As in tricks and maintenance.

I’m all about CLYW and yes they are amazing in that they are ridiculously stable (which keeps the yoyo on its axis even on a sloppy throw), smooth (with a solid color you cant even tell if its spinning) , carry a ton of momentum (to plow through layers of strings), the owner is a nice guy who responds to inquiries and they look really neat.

All that being said…I strongly recommend for your first yoyo getting an Adegle PSG. http://shop.yoyoexpert.com/product/571/Adegle-PSG

Personally I have the Purple Gem one and it looks pretty sweet. You can learn all the tricks in the book on this yoyo and its only $13 + shipping. Plus if you ding it up on the concrete its no big deal because its so cheap. PLUS it has a great bearing seat which means you can easily replace the bearing if you want to upgrade it a little bit.

If money is no issue then yeah get your self a CLYW Chief like mine pictured below!

For first yoyo, buy some responsive plastic like the journey from yoyojam, for a second yoyo buy some cheap metal like the shutter